Cover of: Shetland | James R. Nicolson Read Online

Shetland by James R. Nicolson

  • 931 Want to read
  • ·
  • 65 Currently reading

Published by David & Charles in Newton Abbot .
Written in English



  • Shetland (Scotland)


  • Shetland (Scotland)

Book details:

Edition Notes

Bibliography: p. 229-233.

Statementby James R. Nicolson.
SeriesThe Island series
LC ClassificationsDA880.S5 N5
The Physical Object
Pagination245 p.
Number of Pages245
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL5335236M
ISBN 100715355481
LC Control Number72188525

Download Shetland


Shetland Island is a series of six primary works span by well known Britain’s Duncan Lawrie Dagger award winning author Ann Cleeves. As the name suggests the basic setting is the Shetland Island with the story centered on the life of Inspector Jimmy Perez. As far as mystery stories go, this series definitely has readers hooked on its suspense. The Shetland Island books have been the subject to adaptation in multiple forms. Raven Black was adapted as a radio show in both the United Kingdom and Germany. The book’s story was aired and was quite the hit among listeners. The Shetland Guide Book by Charles Tait Charles Tait’s brilliant guide to Shetland is an essential addition to a Shetland visitor’s rucksack or car. Featuring every site, every area and every island, the guide is informative and entertaining, stuffed full of photographs, and contains OS maps to ensure you make the most of your holiday to Shetland. For Shetland books, books antique, collectable and newish that are about something to do with Shetland or by a Shetland author. Any non-Shetland related books .

The novel North Star by Hammond Innes is largely set in Shetland and Raman Mundair's book of poetry A Choreographer's Cartography offers a British Asian perspective on the landscape. The Shetland Quartet by Ann Cleeves, who previously lived in Fair Isle, is a Largest settlement: Lerwick. Since then, she has written the Inspector Ramsay, Vera Stanhope and Shetland Island series. Ann Cleeves made her debut as a published novelist in with A Bird in the Hand. Below is a list of Ann Cleeves’ books in order of when they were originally released: Publication Order of Palmer-Jones Books. Shetland is a Scottish television crime drama television series, made by ITV Studios for the BBC and broadcast on BBC One, that first broadcast on 10 March Initially based upon the novels of Ann Cleeves, the series was brought to screen by David Kane, who has remained a No. of episodes: 26 (list of episodes). Mar 10,  · In this isolated and sometimes inhospitable environment, the team have to rely on a uniquely resourceful style of policing. Set against a hauntingly beautiful landscape, Shetland is based on the best selling books such as Red Bones, Raven Black, Dead Water and Blue Lightning. Written by /10(K).

Shetland Island Mysteries Ann Cleeves' Shetland series is set in the most northerly community in the UK. The islands are closer to Norway than to Edinburgh and in their bleak beauty they have much in common with Scandinavia. SHETLAND is a beautiful collection of modern Fair Isle using Jamieson's of Shetland Spindrift. The collection of 8 garment and 4 accessory designs for women was photographed around the Shetland Islands capturing the wild beauty of this remote part of Scotland. The slide show above shows each of the designs included in the book. Ann's DI Vera Stanhope series of books is set in Northumberland and features the well loved detective along with her partner Joe Ashworth. Ann's Shetland series bring us DI Jimmy Perez, investigating in the mysterious, dark, and beautiful Shetland Islands /5. The Shetland series is a bestselling, critically-acclaimed series of crime novels by Ann Cleeves, which has also been made into a hit TV series on BBC One starring Douglas Henshall as Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez. Series five of Shetland is now available to buy on DVD.